Complete list of hostile mobs in Minecraft (2022)

Complete list of hostile mobs in Minecraft (2022)

Mobs may be the crown jewels of Minecraft. They are creatures that can be found all over the world, underwater and inside caves. Some passive and neutral mobs can be kept as pets and even have beneficial effects and in-game advantages, but other hostile mobs seek only to harm the player character.

Several hostile mobs only appear at night, but others can withstand the burn of daylight to roam the outside world. Some hostile mobs are exclusive to different dimensions, such as the Void End or the Burning Nether.

youtube cover

Minecraft 1.19 features the inclusion of one of the most intimidating hostile mobs to date, The Warden. With that said, before this fearsome behemoth goes live on June 7, 2022, it might be time for players to upgrade to all the hostile mobs within Minecraft.

Complete list of all hostile mobs in Minecraft

youtube cover

Minecraft has seen several additions to its ever-growing list of hostile mobs. The roster has grown from a handful of classic hostile mobs like creepers, zombies, and skeletons, to an overworld packed with unique hostile creatures like illagers, guardians, and ghosts.

Here is the complete list of all the hostile mobs that have been implemented in Minecraft:

  • Spider
  • cave spider
  • enderman
  • piglin
  • zombified piglin
  • evocative
  • Vindicator
  • illager
  • Devastating
  • devastating jockey
  • Vex
  • chicken jockey
  • endermite
  • guardian
  • elder guardian
  • Shulker
  • skeleton horseman
  • Peel
  • Lost
  • Ghost
  • Radiance
  • Climbing plant
  • Ghost
  • magma cube
  • Silverfish
  • Skeleton
  • Silt
  • spider rider
  • Zombie
  • zombie villager
  • Drowned
  • withered skeleton
  • Witch
  • hoglin
  • Zoglin
  • gross piglin
  • ender dragon
  • Wither

Spider spiders and cave spiders are common neutral/hostile mobs that spawn at night in the overworld and inside mine shafts. However, these eight-legged mobs turn neutral during the day and will turn hostile if attacked or spawned at night.

Endermen are neutral/hostile mobs that will not attack players until they are hit, or the player looks them in the eye. They are known for their teleportation abilities and for throwing ender pearls, one of the only items required to progress through the game.

Piglins are neutral/hostile mobs that spawn exclusively in the Nether. They instantly become hostile towards players unless they are wearing a gold armor piece. These neutral/hostile mobs can be traded using gold bars and other gold items in exchange for other useful items.

Zombified Piglin are neutral/hostile mobs that act similar to previously implemented mobs called “Zombie Pigman”. They appear exclusively in the Nether. These mobs act passively towards players unless they damage another nearby zombified piglin.

The new version of Zombie Pigmen, Zombified Piglins (Image via Minecraft)
The new version of Zombie Pigmen, Zombified Piglins (Image via Minecraft)

Evokers are a type of illager. They are known for their ability to cast spells on the attack. They appear exclusively during village raids and in Woodland Mansions. Evokers are the only hostile mob to drop the extremely rare item, “The Totem of Immortality”.

Vindicators are another type of illager. They are known to wield an iron ax when attacking. These mobs are some of the most powerful regular hostile mobs in Minecraft. When attacking wielding their Iron Axe, Vindicators can deal nearly ten hearts of damage.

Raiders are another kind of raiders. They are known for wielding crossbows and appearing at Pillager Outposts. Of all the illagers, they are the weakest and most common.

Ravagers are the fourth and final type of illager. They are large hostile mobs that look and act similar to real life bulls. Ravagers will spawn during raids (sometimes with other Ilagers mounted on them) and charge at players, villagers, wandering merchants, and iron golems to attack them.

Vexes spawn in groups of three when summoned by the spell caster. They are small hostile mobs that fly around and attack players, iron golems, villagers, and wandering merchants with iron swords.

The Chicken Jockey is a rare hostile mob that spawns 1% of the time instead of a normal zombie and its variants. The mob is a chicken with a zombie baby, zombie villager, zombified pig, husk, or drowned man riding on its back.

The front of a Chicken Jockey (Image via Minecraft)
The front of a Chicken Jockey (Image via Minecraft)

Endermites are the smallest hostile mob in Minecraft. They are small purple insects that behave similarly to hostile mobs of silver fish. Endermites emit purple particles and have a chance to spawn when the player drops an Ender Pearl.

Guardians are hostile puffer fish-like mobs that spawn in and around Ocean Monuments. With their lasers, these aquatic creatures attack players, dolphins, axolotls, squid, and glow squid.

Elder Guardians are a larger and much stronger variant of normal Guardians. These massive mobs are the largest aquatic mobs in the game and can inflict mining fatigue on unsuspecting players wandering around Ocean Monuments. Three hostile mobs will spawn at a monument, one in the attic room and one in each wing.

Shulkers are hostile box-shaped mobs found exclusively in the End Cities. These intelligent mobs use their shells to blend in with their surroundings to protect the treasures that the city houses. They are also the only source of shulker shells, which can be used to craft shulker crates.

The Skeleton Horsemen are a hostile jockey-type mob that spawns when lightning strikes a normal horse in an electrical storm. He then transforms into a skeleton horse with a skeleton with an iron helmet mounted on his back.

Husks are a zombie variant that spawns exclusively in the desert. Unlike their regular zombie counterparts, Husks do not burn in daylight. They will also apply a hunger effect to any mob/player they hit with a melee attack.

Strays are a variant of the skeleton that spawns exclusively in frozen, icy, or snowy biomes. These hostile mobs can fire pointed arrows that inflict a slow effect on any target the arrow hits.

Ghosts are undead, hostile flying mobs that spawn when the player character hasn’t died or slept for three or more in-game days.

A ghost flying at night (Image via Minecraft)
A ghost flying at night (Image via Minecraft)

Blazes are fierce, hostile mobs that spawn exclusively inside Nether Fortresses. These flaming creatures that fly through the air do not spawn naturally, but only spawn in certain rooms within the fortress where there is a flame generator. They can charge up an attack that shoots fireballs rapidly at the target.

The Creepers are a classic hostile mob that have been around for decades within Minecraft. They do not burn out in daylight and will roam around the world to chase players once they are within their line of sight. Once they are close enough, they will explode.

The Ghasts are a hostile, airborne mob only found in the Nether. They float around the fire dimension, making high-pitched noises when attacking, and shooting fireballs at the player.

Magma Cubes are a creature found only in the Nether in Minecraft. They jump and can crush the player character if the magma cube is much bigger than them. When killed, these hostile mobs will drop magma creams.

Leave a Comment