What difficulty is better in Minecraft?

What difficulty is better in Minecraft?
Written by ga_dahmani
What difficulty is better in Minecraft?

Minecraft worlds can be dangerous places, and the degree of danger is dictated by the world’s difficulty setting. Players can change this setting at various times, but what is the ideal one?

The short answer to the question is that it depends on the users. Whether they prefer a more substantial challenge or a more relaxed experience, there should be a tough environment that suits them.

youtube cover

However, since the difficulty settings aren’t described particularly well, it doesn’t hurt to see what each setting entails.

Minecraft: Examining Every Difficulty Setting In The Game

Players change their world difficulty in Minecraft (Image via Mojang)
Players change their world difficulty in Minecraft (Image via Mojang)

While most players are likely to be comfortable playing Minecraft on Normal or Easy difficulty settings, everyone is different. Some may be more interested in an intense survival experience, which will draw them towards Hard and Hardcore modes.

Meanwhile, 1.19 users who are more concerned with building and crafting than surviving will likely feel more comfortable in Peaceful mode. It all depends, but Normal and Easy tend to be the best middle ground for the vast majority of players.

However, to be safe, it’s worth looking at each difficulty setting independently.


  • No hostile mobs spawn naturally, except for shulkers, hoglins, zoglins, and the Ender Dragon. In Minecraft: Bedrock Edition, Brute Pigs can also appear. Spiders, endermen, and zombie piglins appear, but remain neutral to players.
  • It is still possible to die from injury, but players receive massive and rapid health regeneration over time.
  • The hunger bar never goes down.
  • TNT does not deal direct damage, though it still knocks back players.
  • The Eyes of Ender cannot be received, so users cannot activate the End Portal unless they spawn a world where the portal already has all 12 eyes inserted.
  • Not all advancements and achievements can be obtained in Pacifico.

youtube cover


  • Hostile mobs spawn, but deal less damage to players.
  • The hunger bar can decrease, but can only damage players until they have ten health points left.
  • Cave spiders and bees cannot poison users, and Wither does not inflict the Wither status effect, though Wither skeletons still do.
  • The beam only sets fire to the block it hits, not the general area of ​​the blocks.
  • Zombies and skeletons cannot wear full armor, and zombies cannot turn villagers into zombie villagers.


  • Hostile mobs spawn normally and deal their usual damage.
  • The hunger bar can deplete, damaging players until they have one life point left.
  • Zombies and skeletons occasionally wear enchanted armor, and zombies have a 50% chance to turn villagers into zombie villagers.
  • Vindicators can knock down door blocks.

youtube cover


  • Hostile mobs spawn normally and deal higher damage, but can sometimes drop rare items more often.
  • The hunger bar depletes and players can starve to death.
  • Zombies can knock down door blocks and spawn on other zombies when attacked.
  • Spiders can spawn with random beneficial status effects, such as Speed, Regeneration, and Invisibility, among others.
  • Villagers killed by zombies will always turn into zombie villagers.
  • Raiders will spawn near users.


  • The game is set to Hard mode and cannot be changed.
  • A player is given one life. If they die, they cannot reappear in the world. They must enter Spectator Mode or create a new Minecraft world.

These are the only difficulty settings available for Vanilla Minecraft, though players are constantly tweaking the game to create their own settings.

However, you can use the information above to better inform your decision-making if Normal difficulty doesn’t suit you.

Note: This article is subjective and reflects the author’s opinion.

About the author


Leave a Comment